Xinwen's Go (Baduk/Weiqi) Life revolves around me and Brunei


September 2018

Highlights of Go Activities in the 13th KPMC

*Visit to Korea Baduk Association, Hanguk Kiwon*

*Visit to Kwon HyoJin Baduk Academy*

*13th KPMC Highlights Part 1*

*13th KPMC Highlights Part 2*

*Tour Day*

BDGA Student Rank Promotion Test 2

*Rank Assessment Test*

16th September, 2018 was the student rank assessment test; all students are mandatory to take part every three months of their course in learning Go. Only this way, should they receive their rank certificate.

11 student participants attended and competed in a three-rounds matches from 10 00 to 15 00 hosted at World Vision Tuition School, Kiarong.

Students were split into two categories, U13 and Adult Group for fairness challenge.

 Adult Group Result:
1- Neng Cong
2- Sakuya
2- SuTing
3- DuoWei
4- Sun Yeo

U13 Group Result:
1- FengYang
2- Cayenne Yeo
3- Azeemah
3- ZhenYang
4- YoonJae
5- Ayra

Each participants were handed out their official Rank Certificate by XinWen, Asst. President of Brunei Darussalam Go Association.

Student’s Ranking:-
1) Sakuya 13th kyu
2) Yeo ST 13th kyu
3) David Lim 13th kyu
4) Sham NC. 14th kyu
5) Lim SN 14th kyu (absent)
6) Cayenne Yeo 14th kyu
7) Sun Yeo 15th kyu
8) Oh YJ 15th kyu
9) Jasper Pang 17th kyu (absent)
10) Lim FY 17th kyu
11) Lim ZY 18th kyu
12) Azeema 20th kyu
13) Ayra 21st kyu

13th Korea Prime Minister International Baduk Championship 2018

*Final year in Buan, Korea*

Opening Ceremony
Opening Ceremony

The 13th Korea Prime Minister International Baduk Championship 2018 was held from the 9th September ~ 12th September the last time in Buan, Jeollabuk-do, South Korea after 3 years of hosting.

Brunei Darussalam Go Association had rested for two-years (2016 & 2017) and finally decided to participate in the 3rd year of Buan hosting sending: Xinwen (team leader) & Winston (player).

The event was held at the Julpo-Bay Tidal Flat Ecological Park in Buan. The Tournament Slogan “One Baduk One World”.

This year, there were 61 countries & regions participated (16 from Asia, 32 from Europe, 11 from North & South America, 2 from Oceania).

*Annual General Meeting of Asian Go Federation*

Asian Go Federation Annual General Meeting.jpg
Annual General Meeting of AGF

The 2018 Asian Go Federation Annual General Meeting was conducted, Xinwen attended on behalf of BDGA as the Auditor together with 14 important Asian delegates:
– Ms. Vanthanee (Vice President of Thailand Go Association)
– Mr. Tan (President of Singapore Weiqi Association)
– Mr. Tiong (President of Malaysia Weiqi Association)
Xinwen (Asst. President of Brunei Darussalam Go Association)
– Ms. Celeste (President of Philippines Go Association)
– Mr. Edwin (Ex-President of Indonesia Go Federation)
– Mr. Chen (Executive Officer of Chinese Taipei Weiqi Association)
– Mr. Shartoigol (President of Mongolian Go Association)
– Mr. Chan (Representative of Macao Go Association)
– Mr. Leo Chan (Representative of Hong Kong Go association)
– Mr. Manoj Kumar YADAV (Secretary General of Indo Amateur Go Association)
– Mr. Sang-chul SHIN (President of Asian Go Federation)
– Ms. KIM Hyang Hee (Secretary General of AGF)
– Mr. Woosuk PARK (Vice Secretary General of AGF)
– Mr. Dalsoo KIM (Advisor of AGF)
– Mr. Jaychin Chung (Acting President of AGF)
The main topic was to propose an Online AGF Go Championship next year to improve communication & networking among the AGF members.

*Winston in Action*

Winston won 2 games out of 6 games earning himself 54th out of 60th – overall he wasn’t performed his best due to lack of training.

List of Winston’s opponent & Kifu:
1- Sylvain Gasana Praz (Switzerland)

2- Ignacio Eduardo IGLESIS LOPEZ (Chile)

3- Dummy Player

4- Rui CARMONA MALHADO (Portugal)

5- Carlos Adrian RAMIREZ ALVAREZ (Guatemala)

6- Andrea ALPIZAR VIQUEZ (Costa Rica)

*Closing Ceremony*

Closing Ceremony.jpg
Closing Ceremony

Individual Result:
1- LYU LiYan (China)
2- JUNG Chan Ho (S.Korea)
3- Fukashi MURAKAMI (Japan)
4- CHAN Chi Hin (Hong Kong)
5- Gerard Rober VAN ZEIJST (Netherland)
6- Pal BALOGH (Hungary)
7- CHAN Yi-Tien (Taiwan)

12- Pongsakarn SORNARRA (Thailand)

28- Daniel Sufiah THALIB (Indonesia)
29- Phuoc Dinh TRAN (Taiwan)
30- James LEE (Singapore)

46- CHANG Xin (Malaysia)

54- Winston ANG (Brunei)

60- Andrea ALPIZAR VIQUEZ (Costa Rica)

The next KPMC will be hosted in Yeongwol of Gangwon Province

Blog at

Up ↑